Scroll to content
School Logo

Our Lady's Catholic Primary School

Jesus the teacher guides our every step

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum is based on the following areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Maths
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The EYFS Curriculum emphasises learning through a process of exploration and play (The Characteristics of Learning).  These characteristics are vital learning tools for neurological development. Play and movement are essential to prepare children for creative rigorous thinking as they develop and grow. Learning experiences are created to provide opportunities for learning through direct participation with sensation, movement and feeling experiences. Child-led activities form the basis for the curriculum as well as the teaching of key skills in English, Mathematics and Religious Education. Opportunities for movement play are integral to curriculum provision as they have a significant impact on a child’s overall development. Observation supports early identification and early intervention opportunities. We recognise that all children are different and that one teaching style or belief does not fit all – learning takes place at the appropriate level for individual children’s needs. The aim of our curriculum is to build secure foundations for a child’s learning (academic, physical and emotional), their health and their wellbeing.